Grateful for my yoga mat = Grateful for my life!

I had an amazing personal yoga practice at the beach yesterday and now my mat is full of sand.  I need to give my mat a deep cleaning to take this sand off.  As I wash the mat, I get present.  Suddenly a feeling of gratitude for the mat comes over me.  I feel grateful for this mat that allows me to practice yoga.  That gives proper cushion for my body.  That is firm enough to keep me steady during balancing.  That is soft enough for my knees in frog.  But most importantly, I am grateful for this mat that from a deeper level allows me to get to know myself better, deeper, authentically.

Yes, on this very mat, I get to hear the annoying voices of my ego, from this mat, I get to face my fears on poses that I find difficult, on this very mat I get to see the competitive side of me, on this very mat I get to see the “show off” part of me.  On this very mat I get to see when I am not present, when I am holding back and not practicing fully.  I also get to see when I am not giving it my best.  I also get to see when I am trying to achieve perfection instead of being true to myself and my body.  On this very mat I get to see how I AM in my life.

I am very grateful for this mat, because this mat is the laboratory of my life.   If my mat is my life, how then do I see my life?  Do I see my life as the space for me to grow to my highest potential?  Do I see my life as the vehicle that helps me get in touch with the divine in me?

Am I truly living my life as if this is the only life to live?  Am I grateful because my life allows me to love myself and others? Am I grateful because my life gives me the chance to face my fears so that I may know myself as courageous?  Am I grateful because my life allows me to see myself in others and know myself as compassionate?  Am I grateful because my life allows me to redefine and re-create myself as I choose?

I take care of my mat for what it does for me; I take care of my life for it allows me TO BE.

Leave a Reply

